Alabama Mining Association Announces Safety and Sustainability Award Winners

News and research before you hear about it on CNBC and others. Claim your 1 week free trial StreetInsider Premium here.

The second annual awards dinner was held in Birmingham on November 15th

MONTGOMERY, Ala.–(BUSINESS WIRE)– The Alabama Mining Association (AMA) today announced the winners of the annual AMA Safety & Sustainability Awards.

This year’s winners were honored at the Association’s second annual Safety & Sustainability Awards Dinner on November 15 at The Club in Birmingham.

The AMA’s goal with the awards is to highlight examples of successful safety and sustainability initiatives in the mining industry and to publicly recognize the companies and individuals who have made them possible.

The awards were presented to the winners by some of this year’s judges, including Lance LeFleur, director of the Alabama Department of Environmental Management; Tim Gothard, executive director of the Alabama Wildlife Federation; Chris Blankenship, Commissioner for the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources; and Samuel Pierce, retired Eastern District manager of mine safety and health administration.

The award winners were as follows:

Exceptional reclamation price

Alabama Land Resources, Inc.

North River Mine Reclamation

Exceptional award from safety and education initiative

Nelson brothers

Fleet Modernization Initiative

Country Stewardship Award

Warrior met coal

Mine 7 Plant Dry Slurry System – Phase I Project.

Lifetime Commitment to Stewardship Award

CW McGehee, Founder and President of McGehee Engineering Corp.

Lifetime Dedication to Safety & Training Award

Ken Russell, (retired) Director of Workforce Solutions at Bevill State Community College

Mitigation Excellence Award

Westervelt Society

Big Sandy Mitigation Bank – Phase 1 / Phase 2

Award for Outstanding Safety and Training Leaders

Randy Clements, safety manager at ABC Coke of the Drummond Company

Conservation Award

Drummond company

Segco Mine and Permanent Wildlife Management Area Project

President’s Community Safety Award

Nelson brothers

Establishment of the Institute of Makers of Explosives Safety Analysis for Risk

President’s Commitment to Community Award

Martin Marietta

Champion of Safety Award

Harold “JR” Gunther

Gregory Upton

Descriptions for each award can be found here.

During the dinner, AMA presented the Alabama Fire College with an award and thanked its leadership for supporting mine safety by hosting the state’s first-ever Surface Mine First Responder Competition. Peabody’s Shoal Creek Prep Plant has also received the National Mining Association’s Sentinels of Safety Award for its exceptional safety record.

“We were thrilled to present these awards to well-deserved companies and individuals who embody the excellence of Alabama’s 21st Century mining industry,” said Patrick Cagle, President of AMA. “Safety and sustainability are the lifeblood of our state’s modern mining industry, and AMA prides itself on the ingenuity, dedication and resilience our members demonstrate every day. On behalf of AMA, I would like to congratulate this year’s winners on their unwavering commitment to their employees and their local communities.”

A not-for-profit trade association, AMA serves as the unified voice of the mining industry in Alabama. The association’s mission is to promote the safe and sustainable extraction of the natural resources that strengthen our infrastructure and grow the economy of our great state.

Read more from AMA about safety and sustainability here.

Patrick V Cagle

[email protected]

Source: Alabama Mining Association