Cade Chambers was named Missouri Valley Football Freshman of the Year


Jason W. Kapusta


Seth Montgomery |

ST. LOUIS, Mo. — Redshirt freshman quarterback from Indiana State cade chambers was named the Missouri Valley Football Conference Freshman of the Year by the conference bureau Monday afternoon. The head trainers of the conference, SID employees and media representatives voted on the award.

Chambers earned 59 out of a total of 66 points on his journey to become the first Indiana State football player in program history to receive the Valley Freshman of the Year award, dating back to the award’s inception in 1999. He is also the first Sycamore to be honored with one of the conference’s most important postseason awards since Ryan Boyle (newcomer) and Coach Kurt Mallory (coaches) both took home awards in 2018.

The Maryville, Tenn. native was the only Missouri Valley Football freshman to be named to the Jerry Rice Watch List that season, and subsequently became one of the 30 finalists nationwide to make the list. He finished the year with 938 passing pards and an 8-3 touchdown-to-interception ratio. He added 111 rushing yards and four points on the ground.

Chambers took the starting role midseason against North Dakota State, delivering a 162-yard passing performance for three total touchdowns against the Bison. He added another strong game against Illinois State with 201 passing yards and three total touchdowns against the Redbirds.

Chambers’ signature game in 2022 against Youngstown State, when the redshirt freshman threw for a career-high 311 passing yards and totaled five touchdowns against the Penguins. He became the first ISU quarterback to reach 300 passing yards in a game since Ryan Boyle accomplished the feat in 2018. His efforts in the competition resulted in Chambers receiving MVFC Newcomer of the Week honors.

Chambers’ Freshman of the Year Award recognizes six Sycamores honored on MVFC’s postseason all-conference list. Dante Hendrix (First team), Rylan Cole (Second team) and Justin Dinka (Second Team) all deserved credit while Harry Van Dyne, Luke Jaegerand Jose Vázquez IV were included in the honorable mention team.

Youngstown State running back Jaleel McLaughlin was named Missouri Valley Football Conference Offensive Player of the Year, while Illinois linebacker Zeke Vandenburgh was named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year. Western Illinois native Naseim Brantley was named Conference Newcomer of the Year, and South Dakota State Coach John Stiegelmeier was named MVFC Coach of the Year “Bruce Craddock.”

All-Time Indiana State Football Postseason Annual Honors
Offensive Player of the Year

  • 1979 – Reggie Allen
  • 1984—Jeff Miller
  • 1985—Jeff Miller
  • 1991 – Derrick Franklin
  • 2011 – Shakir bell

Defensive Player of the Year

  • 1979 – Gerry Gluscic
  • 1981 – Craig Shaffer
  • 1984—Wayne Davis
  • 1985 – Vencie Glenn

coach of the year

  • 1984 – Dennis Ratz
  • 2010 – Trento Miles
  • 2018 – Kurt Mallory

Newcomer of the Year

  • 2001 – Julian Reese (QB)
  • 2018 – Ryan Boyle (QB)

Freshman of the Year

Follow the plane trees

Visit for the latest information on Sycamore Football. You can also find the team on social media, including Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube. Fans can also receive Sycamore Athletics updates by downloading the March On App from both the App Store and Google Play Store.