Indiana Basketball HOF Announces 2022 Scholars

Indiana Basketball HOF Announces 2022 Scholars

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame has announced the four recipients of its “Gifts of the Game” scholarship program.

Elizabeth Graham of Triton Central High School, Maya King of Alexandria-Monroe High School, Mathew Strange of Oak Hill and Boston Steers of Evansville Central have been selected as recipients of four-year renewable college scholarships of up to $4,000 each .

Elizabeth Graham has been a four-year member of the Triton Central girls’ basketball team and is a recipient of All-Shelby County, All-Indiana Crossroads Conference and IBCA All-District honors. When he’s not on the hardwood, Graham competes on the Tigers girls soccer team and also earns All-County and All-Conference selections. In the classroom, she is a proud member of the National Honor Society, the Sunshine Society and the Student Council. She volunteers in her community as an instructor and coach at various youth basketball and soccer camps. She is the daughter of Bryan & Christine Graham of Fairland and will continue her education at Indiana University-South Bend.

Mayan King is a four-year collegiate basketball player and three-year starter for the Alexandria-Monroe High School girls’ basketball team. In addition to basketball, King has been a member of the Tigers softball team for four years, including three as a starter. She is also an active contributor in the community and classroom, having held positions on the student council, prom committee, class president for three years, youth leadership academy, and choirmaster. She volunteers with numerous organizations including the Alexandria Community Center, St. Mary’s School, Multiplication Madness and basketball-centric camps and youth basketball. She is a member of the National Honors Society and the daughter of Brian & Monica King of Alexandria.

Mathew Strange is a four-year member of the Oak Hill High School Boys’ basketball program and serves as the team’s captain and current assistant leader of the team. His on-court performances earned him an honorable mention from the Central Indiana Conference and an honorable mention from the All-Grant County. In addition to basketball, Strange competes in both soccer and baseball for the Golden Eagles. Beyond athletics, he is a member of the National Honors Society, Student Council, Student Athletic Board, Show Choir, 4-H and Junior Leaders. His academic and community achievements have earned him Academic All-Conference and Academic All-State. He is the son of Josh and Stephanie Strange by Marion.

Boston oxen is a three-year college letter winner on the Evansville Central High School boys’ basketball team. Steers was named defensive team MVP for the 2020 and 2021 seasons and is serving as the team captain this year. Off the field, Steers participates in soccer, golf, Unified Sports for the Bears and is a member of the National Honors Society. In the community, Steers participates in his church youth group, serves as a youth basketball coach, and volunteers at the local pantry. He is the son of Mike and Sarah Steers from Evansville.

The Gifts of the Game scholarship program was created to recognize high school seniors who have been involved in Indiana high school basketball as a player, manager, statistician, student coach, or in any other similar role, by considering their scholarship, their leadership and extracurricular activities.

The name “Gifts of the Game” is a nod to both the financial gift Indiana high school seniors will receive and the benefits basketball has played in the lives of those associated with the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame and this program related. In his 4thth In its year of existence, $16,000 in college scholarships will be awarded through the program this year.

Funded by the 2nd As the largest private donation in the history of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame, the scholarship fund is open to additional contributions to increase the amount and number of scholarships awarded.

Interested donors may contact Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Development Director Trip Lukemeyer at [email protected] or (317) 983-4667 for more information or to make a contribution. Contributions may be sent to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame, One Hall of Fame Court, New Castle, IN 47362, with a note on the message line.